Getting CalculateHeldBytes in code

Use this forum for questions on how to use .NET Memory Profiler and how to analyse memory usage.

Moderator: SciTech Software

Getting CalculateHeldBytes in code

Postby inquistor » Wed Jul 13, 2016 2:58 pm

Hi,

I'm new to MemProfiler and I'm trying obtain the values from a saved Snapshot using the API.
So far, I'm pretty much doing what's described in the second code snippet in this post http://forum.memprofiler.com/viewtopic.php?t=1317.
Doing so, I get the values for LiveInstanceCount and LiveByteCount.
In addition, I'd like to have the HeldBytesCount which for me is always null right now (even though there are values shown in the GUI). If I understand it correctly those values have to be calculated but (if the CalculateHeldBytes function is the right thing to use here at all) appearently I'm using it wrong.

Thank you in advance and a code example for reference would be really appreciated as I couldn't find any related question.

Thanks and best regards
inquistor

Re: Getting CalculateHeldBytes in code

Postby Andreas Suurkuusk » Thu Jul 14, 2016 9:53 am

The CalculateHeldBytes method can be used to calculate the held bytes for separate instances. You can call it for a single instance using CalculateHeldBytes( typeInstanceId, null ) and it will return the number of held instances and bytes for the instance. You can also provide a collection of instances to CalculateHeldBytes, but then no data is returned. Instead you can access the ProfilerComparison.HeldInstances dictionary to retrieve the held bytes data for the instances.

However, as I understand it, you actually want the "combined" held bytes information for the types returned by GetComparedTypes. Is that correct?