Profiling a looped process

Use this forum for questions on how to use .NET Memory Profiler and how to analyse memory usage.
zeidman

Profiling a looped process

Post by zeidman » Mon Apr 20, 2009 12:37 pm

I am very new to this so please bear with me.

I have a batch process that appears to be leaking memory. However it leaks memory on each additional loop of the batch. When it is stopped the memory is released (I think).

I followed the second tutorial and while it gives a real insight into how you go about finding memory leaks I am not sure how I should proceed.

With my process I cannot simply take a base snapshot as I cannot stop the process. It has to continue for it to leak memory. It is more of a timing issue than anything else.

Any help would be really great.

Thanks

David

Andreas Suurkuusk

Post by Andreas Suurkuusk » Tue Apr 21, 2009 8:36 pm

If you suspect that a memory leak is caused by the batch, it would be good if you could collect one snapshots before the batch processing starts and one after. As I understand it, this is not possible through the user interface in your case. Have you tried to use the profiler API to trigger the snapshot? This will give you much better control of when the snapshots are created. Maybe you can try something like:

Code: Select all

using SciTech.NetMemProfiler;
void RunBatchLoop()
{
  int nProcessedBatches = 0;
  while( HasPendingBatch )
  {
    MemProfiler.FullSnapShot( "Begin batch " + ( nProcessedBatches + 1 ));

ProcessNextBatch();

MemProfiler.FullSnapshot( "End batch " + ( nProcessedBatches + 1 ));
    ++nProcessedBatches;
  }
}