VB.NET Framework 2.0 OLEDB not disposing correctly?

Use this forum for questions on how to use .NET Memory Profiler and how to analyse memory usage.
Simon Lockington

VB.NET Framework 2.0 OLEDB not disposing correctly?

Post by Simon Lockington » Thu Sep 14, 2006 11:55 pm

Hi guys,
I've been using your software now for a few months tracing down memory leaks and it has been invaluable.

However I have a question I'm hoping you could help me with.

I have a system that periodically (ie once a minute) does some data activity via OLEDB. I've noticed that many of my OLEDB objects are registering as being 'undisposed' even though I specifically 'close' them and assign them 'nothing'.

To try and rectify this as per one of your tutorials, I moved all the data interaction code into Using - End Using blocks.

However I still see many 'undisposed' instances. The objects most commonly undisposed are:

System.Data RBTree<DataRow>.RBTreeEnumerator
System.Data.OleDB SessionWrapper
System.Data.OleDB DataSourceWrapper
System.ComponentModel EventHandlerList

My question is, are undisposed instances really bad? My understanding is the object has been garbage collected (and certainly there aren't any extraneous live instances lying around), but just didn't have 'disposed' explicitly called on them.

However if I'm using the Using/End Using statement, shouldn't the disposing actions be automatically taken care of for me?

Thank you in advance for any help you might be able to provide.

Kind Regards,
Simon

Andreas Suurkuusk

Post by Andreas Suurkuusk » Fri Sep 15, 2006 3:55 pm

Hi,